--- title: Important considerations before deleting update sets description: Revert a customization, back out the update set rather than deleting it. locale: en-US canonical_url: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/australia/application-development/system-update-sets/delete-update-set-cautions.html release: australia product: System Update Sets classification: system-update-sets topic_type: reference last_updated: "2026-03-12" reading_time_minutes: 1 breadcrumb: [Reference, System update sets, Deploying applications, Building applications] --- # Important considerations before deleting update sets Revert a customization, back out the update set rather than deleting it. Administrators can delete an update set only when it isn’t the current update set and contains no sys\_update\_xml entries. For example, after merging update sets, you might want to remove the original sets. This capability is governed by an access control rule \(ACL\) applied to the sys\_update\_set table. Don’t delete sys\_update\_xml entries, because this action: - Doesn’t undo the updates. - Removes any record of who applied the customizations. - Removes the sys\_update\_xml entries associated with the update set, so customizations are overwritten when the instance is upgraded. When you try to delete an update entry, a warning message appears. Select **OK** to confirm the deletion. **Parent Topic:**[Update sets reference](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/application-development/system-update-sets/update-sets-reference.md)