--- title: Close a conversation description: As a manager, you can mark a conversation as completed to easily reference it for future planning and growth activities. Write closing notes and share them with your employee to ensure a shared understanding. locale: en-US canonical_url: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/australia/employee-service-management/career-conversations/egd-close-conversation.html release: australia product: Career Conversations classification: career-conversations topic_type: task last_updated: "2026-03-12" reading_time_minutes: 1 breadcrumb: [Using the Career Conversations application, Career Conversations, Growth Experiences, HR Service Delivery, Employee Service Management] --- # Close a conversation As a manager, you can mark a conversation as completed to easily reference it for future planning and growth activities. Write closing notes and share them with your employee to ensure a shared understanding. ## Before you begin You must provide your employees with a license to enable access to the Career Conversations app. For more information about employee licensing, refer to [License Talent Development Core users](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/employee-service-management/talent-development-core/egd-employee-profile-licensing.md). Role required: manager \[sn\_egd\_act.manager\] ## About this task While the Career Conversations app includes a system property that automatically closes past conversations, managers can opt to manually close conversations. This allows them to add final thoughts that weren't captured during the conversation, and share them with employees. Once closed, the conversation becomes read-only, preserving the discussion for future reference. The manager can reopen a closed conversation for editing if needed. Alternatively, there is the option to cancel the conversation, which is permanent and cannot be undone, whereas closing a conversation allows the manager to reopen and edit it later if needed. ## Procedure 1. Navigate to **All** > **Self-Service** > **Employee Center**. 2. Close the conversation from the growth conversation page or the **Conversations** landing page.
| Page | Steps |
|---|---|
| Growth conversation page | 1. Use the **Your team's conversation** widget to select the conversation that you want to close. 2. Select the more options button and select **Complete conversation**. |
| Conversations landing page | 1. Navigate to the conversation that you want to close. 2. Select the more options button and select **Complete conversation**. |