--- title: Checkout published content description: After Portal or Rich content is published, you must checkout the content to modify it. locale: en-US canonical_url: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/australia/employee-service-management/employee-experience-foundation/ec-checkout-published-content.html release: australia product: Employee Experience Foundation classification: employee-experience-foundation topic_type: task last_updated: "2026-03-12" reading_time_minutes: 1 breadcrumb: [Content versioning, Creating employee communications, Authoring and managing employee communications, Employee Center Pro, Unified Employee Experience, Employee Service Management] --- # Checkout published content After Portal or Rich content is published, you must checkout the content to modify it. ## Before you begin Role required: sn\_cd.content\_manager **Note:** Content versioning must be enabled in **Content Publishing** > **Advanced** > **Properties**. For more information, see [Properties installed with Content Publishing](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/employee-service-management/employee-experience-foundation/properties-with-content-delivery.md) ## About this task For more information on content versioning, see [Content versioning](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/employee-service-management/employee-experience-foundation/ec-content-versioning.md). ## Procedure 1. Navigate to **All** > **Content Publishing** > **Content Library** > **View All**. 2. Select the content you will edit. 3. Click **Checkout**. A new version of the content is created and the **Version** field value is appended with .01. 4. Make the necessary edits. 5. Click **Save** or **Save and continue**. This version is saved to the Content Library without impacting the published version of the content. 6. To preview the updated content as it would appear in the portal, based on the current publish plan: 1. Click the **Publish** tab. 2. Click the publish plan to preview. 3. Click **Preview on portal**. The Employee Center opens in a new tab, displaying the updated content as it would appear once published. 7. When you are ready to publish your updates, click **Save and publish**. This version replaces the currently-published version. The new version maintains the same publish plans as the previous version. The **Version** field value increments by 1.0. ## What to do next After publishing the updated content, you can create additional publish plans: [Create a publish plan for your content](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/employee-service-management/employee-experience-foundation/ec-content-library-publish2.md)