--- title: Assign ownership of content description: Assign a user or group with the content manager \(sn\_cd.content\_manager\) role to a content item so only that user or group can edit and publish the content. locale: en-US canonical_url: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/australia/employee-service-management/employee-experience-foundation/ecpro-ca-cd-content-restriction.html release: australia product: Employee Experience Foundation classification: employee-experience-foundation topic_type: task last_updated: "2026-03-12" reading_time_minutes: 1 breadcrumb: [Content Ownership, Setup employee communications, Configuring Employee Center Pro, Employee Center Pro, Unified Employee Experience, Employee Service Management] --- # Assign ownership of content Assign a user or group with the content manager \(sn\_cd.content\_manager\) role to a content item so only that user or group can edit and publish the content. ## Before you begin Role required: sn\_cd.content\_admin Ensure **Yes** is checked under **Allow Ownership for Content Items** under Content Publishing or Content Experiences properties. For more information, see [Properties installed with Content Experiences](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/employee-service-management/employee-experience-foundation/properties-installed-with-content-auto.md) and [Properties installed with Content Publishing](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/employee-service-management/employee-experience-foundation/properties-with-content-delivery.md). ## About this task Provide a content manager or group of managers with exclusive access to sensitive content, such as a notice of an upcoming merger or reduction of workforce. Alternatively, use a content item as a template that can be repeatedly cloned and assigned to content owners for customization. ## Procedure 1. Navigate to **All** > **Content Publishing** > **Content Library** > **View All**. 2. Select a topic. 3. From the top-left menu \(\[Omitted image "menu-outline-24.svg"\] Alt text: Menu icon\), select **View content record**. - To assign ownership to a user, select the **Restrict content by user** tab. - To assign ownership to a group, select the **Restrict content by group** tab. 4. Click **New**. 5. From the **User** or **Group** field, click the **Lookup using list** \(\[Omitted image "magnify-glass-outline-icon.png"\] Alt text: Lookup using list icon\) icon and select a user or group. **Note:** Only groups that have the content admin \(sn\_cd.content\_admin\) or content manager \(sn\_cd.content\_manager\) roles appear. If the members of the group have these roles, but the group does not, the group does not appear. 6. Select **Submit**. After a user or group is associated with content, only that user or group can access the content when scheduling content or when adding content to a campaign. Removing the user or group makes the content accessible by all content managers.