--- title: Run the scheduled job for outdated content description: Auto-delete the outdated content by marking the schedule job active. Once the schedule job is active, all the outdated content is removed automatically. locale: en-US canonical_url: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/australia/employee-service-management/employee-experience-foundation/may-scheduled-job-content-outdated.html release: australia product: Employee Experience Foundation classification: employee-experience-foundation topic_type: task last_updated: "2026-03-12" reading_time_minutes: 1 breadcrumb: [Manage outdated connected content, Taxonomy and connected content, Setup Employee Center browse experience features, Configuring Employee Center, Employee Center, Unified Employee Experience, Employee Service Management] --- # Run the scheduled job for outdated content Auto-delete the outdated content by marking the schedule job active. Once the schedule job is active, all the outdated content is removed automatically. ## Before you begin Role required: admin ## About this task Reduce maintenance overhead with the scheduled job or alternatively [Manage outdated connected content](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/employee-service-management/employee-experience-foundation/may-manage-outdated-content-topics.md) manually. - Run the cleanup at a regular interval with a scheduled job. - Send email notifications to taxonomy admins about the cleanup. - Auto-delete the invalid and outdated content for performance improvement. ## Procedure 1. Navigate to **All** > **System Definition** > **Scheduled Jobs** > **Automated Outdated Connected Content Cleanup**. 2. Mark the state to **Active**. **Note:** By default, schedule job is **inactive**. 3. Select your preferred **Run** time option, for the scheduled job, from the available list on the field. **Note:** The default scheduled job run-time is monthly. Edit and update the frequency of execution, as required. ## Result When the job is complete, the taxonomy admins receive the following email notification with the subject line **Cleanup of Outdated Connected Content** along with the details indicating the total items removed, if any. \[Omitted image "outdated-cleanup-email.png"\] Alt text: Cleanup email notification When a category has outdated data, that data isn't associated with the topic. **Note:** When you delete, only the association with the topic and taxonomies is removed. The actual catalog item or the knowledge article is not deleted. **Parent Topic:**[Manage outdated connected content](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/employee-service-management/employee-experience-foundation/may-manage-outdated-content-topics.md)