--- title: Cancel or delete a case description: As a case manager, cancel a workplace case at any time if it’s no longer required. As an admin, delete a case record completely from the application if it’s no longer required. locale: en-US canonical_url: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/australia/employee-service-management/workplace-central/cancel-or-delete-a-case-casemgmtworkspace.html release: australia product: Workplace Central classification: workplace-central topic_type: task last_updated: "2026-03-25" reading_time_minutes: 3 breadcrumb: [Working with Case management, Use, Workplace Central, Workplace Service Delivery, Employee Service Management] --- # Cancel or delete a case As a case manager, cancel a workplace case at any time if it’s no longer required. As an admin, delete a case record completely from the application if it’s no longer required. ## Before you begin As a workplace case manager, you can cancel a case if it’s no longer required. Cancelling a case cancels all the child cases and child tasks associated with the case. The state is set to Cancelled. **Important:** Only an admin can delete a case. A case admin can delete only a workplace case, a move admin can delete only a move case and, a maintenance admin can delete only a maintenance case. Role required: admin \(to delete a case\) and sn\_wsd\_case.manager \(to cancel a case\) ## Procedure 1. Navigate to **All** > **Workplace Central** > **Workplace Central**. You can also open Workplace Central from the Employee Center directly. Navigate to **Workspaces** > **Workplace Central**. The Workplace Analytics dashboard opens. 2. On the left pane, select the **Case Management** icon \(\[Omitted image "casemgmt-icon.png"\] Alt text: Case Management icon.\). The Case Management landing page opens. 3. Open the case that you want to cancel/delete using any of the following navigations: - Go to the **Overview** section. Select the relevant tile to open the list of cases. - Go to the **All active cases** section. 4. Select the case. 5. To cancel the case, do the following: 1. On the case details page, select **Cancel**. 2. On the confirmation window, select **Yes**. The case and all the child cases, child tasks, flows associated with the cases are cancelled and the state is set to Cancelled. 6. To delete a case, do the following: **Important:** Only an admin can delete a case. A case admin can delete only a workplace case, a move admin can delete only a move case and, a maintenance admin can delete only a maintenance case. 1. On the case details page, select the Delete icon \(\). **Note:** These option appears only for workplace users with admin rights. 2. Select **Delete**. 3. On the confirmation window, select **Yes** to delete. The workplace case record, the associated SLAs and more are deleted from the application. **Parent Topic:**[Working with Case management](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/employee-service-management/workplace-central/working-with-case-management.md) **Related topics** [Manage workplace cases using Case management]() [Work on a workplace case using Case management]() [Create a workplace service case]() [Create a child case and a child task]() [Print a workplace case]() [Managing print case]() [Manage workplace cases in calendar view in Workplace Central]() [Workplace cases in List view in Workplace Central]() [View facility assets in Workplace Central]()