--- title: Cancel a work order description: Cancel a work order if the work is no longer necessary or if it is a duplicate of another work order. locale: en-US canonical_url: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/australia/field-service-management/work-order-management/t\_CancelAWorkOrder.html release: australia product: Work Order Management classification: work-order-management topic_type: task last_updated: "2026-03-12" reading_time_minutes: 1 breadcrumb: [Manage work orders, Prepare work orders, Use, Field Service Management] --- # Cancel a work order Cancel a work order if the work is no longer necessary or if it is a duplicate of another work order. ## Before you begin Role required: Work orders can be canceled by users with different roles during specific states in the work order life cycle. ## About this task When you cancel a work order, all associated work order tasks are also canceled. Work orders and work order tasks cannot be canceled while in **Closed Complete** or **Closed Incomplete** state. Work orders and work order tasks can be canceled by users with these roles: |Role|Description| |----|-----------| |Initiator|Can cancel a work order, which automatically cancels all associated work order tasks.| |Qualifier|Can cancel work orders and work order tasks.| |Dispatcher|Can cancel work orders and work order tasks.| |Agent|Can cancel work order tasks assigned to them.| |Field Service Management Administrator|Can cancel any active work order or work order task at any time.| ## Procedure 1. Navigate to **All** > **Field Service** > **All Work Orders**. 2. Click the work order. 3. In the **Work notes** field, enter a reason for canceling the work order. A reason is required for canceling work orders. If you do not provide a reason, an error message prompts you to enter one in the **Work notes** field. 4. Click **Cancel**.