--- title: Cancel a work order task description: The Cancel Task option is appropriate if a work order task is no longer necessary or is a duplicate of another work order task. locale: en-US canonical_url: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/australia/field-service-management/work-order-management/t\_CancelAWorkOrderTask.html release: australia product: Work Order Management classification: work-order-management topic_type: task last_updated: "2026-03-12" reading_time_minutes: 1 breadcrumb: [Execute work order tasks, Updating task status, Completing work orders on the web interface, Use, Field Service Management] --- # Cancel a work order task The **Cancel Task** option is appropriate if a work order task is no longer necessary or is a duplicate of another work order task. ## Before you begin Role required: wm\_agent ## About this task Work orders and work order tasks cannot be canceled while in **Closed Complete** or **Closed Incomplete** state. When you cancel a work order task, the ServiceNow system automatically: - Cancels all associated transfer orders if the items have not already shipped. If the items have shipped, the system blocks the cancellation of the task until the parts are delivered. - Removes all predecessor \(upstream\) and successor \(downstream\) dependencies. - Changes the state of the parent work order to **Canceled** if all associated work order tasks are **Canceled**. - Removes all part requirements without a transfer order line. - Retains all asset usage information. - Sends a notification email and SMS to the customer about the cancellation of work order task. Work order tasks can be canceled by users with these roles: |Role|Description| |----|-----------| |Initiator|Can cancel a work order, which automatically cancels all associated work order tasks.| |Qualifier|Can cancel work orders and work order tasks.| |Dispatcher|Can cancel work orders and work order tasks.| |Agent|Can cancel work order tasks assigned to them.| |Field Service Management Administrator|Can cancel any active work order or work order task at any time.| ## Procedure 1. Navigate to **All** > **Field Service** > **Work Order** > **All Work Orders**. 2. Open a work order. 3. Open a work order task. 4. In **Work notes**, enter a cancellation reason. 5. Click **Cancel Task**. An error message appears if text is not entered into the **Work Notes** field. For traceability, auditing, and possible [deletion](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/field-service-management/work-order-management/t_DeleteAWorkOrder.md), field service administrators need to know the reason why a work order or work order task was canceled. ## Result The customer receives an SMS and email notification that the work order task is canceled.