--- title: Delete a work order description: For tracking purposes, you should close or cancel an existing work order that is no longer in use. Closed and canceled work orders are inactive and don't appear on work order lists. Avoid deleting a work order unless you're cleaning up errors, such as duplicate work orders. locale: en-US canonical_url: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/australia/field-service-management/work-order-management/t\_DeleteAWorkOrder.html release: australia product: Work Order Management classification: work-order-management topic_type: task last_updated: "2026-03-12" reading_time_minutes: 1 breadcrumb: [Manage work orders, Prepare work orders, Use, Field Service Management] --- # Delete a work order For tracking purposes, you should close or cancel an existing work order that is no longer in use. Closed and canceled work orders are inactive and don't appear on work order lists. Avoid deleting a work order unless you're cleaning up errors, such as duplicate work orders. ## Before you begin Role required: wm\_admin ## About this task Deleting a work order automatically deletes associated work order tasks, so agents aren't assigned work order tasks that are part of a deleted work order. ## Procedure 1. Navigate to **All** > **Field Service** > **All Work Orders**. 2. Click the work order. If work order tasks have part requirements with transfer orders, the work order tasks won't be deleted. Before deleting the work order, delete transfer orders attached to work order tasks. 3. Click **Delete**. 4. Confirm the action when prompted.