--- title: Deactivate a pre-release feature description: Deactivate a pre-release feature if it is not working as expected or if you no longer need the feature. locale: en-US canonical_url: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/australia/platform-administration/deactivate-prerelease-feature.html release: australia topic_type: task last_updated: "2026-05-14" reading_time_minutes: 1 breadcrumb: [Feature Preview Program, Basic system configuration, Get started, Administer the ServiceNow AI Platform] --- # Deactivate a pre-release feature Deactivate a pre-release feature if it is not working as expected or if you no longer need the feature. ## Before you begin Role required: admin You can deactivate a pre-release feature at any time. When you deactivate a feature, the functionality is removed from your instance. ## About this task Deactivating a feature disables the feature's functionality on your instance. However, deactivating is not the same as uninstalling. When you deactivate a feature, artifacts that were installed as part of the feature may remain on your instance. **Important:** Residual artifacts left by a deactivated feature don't affect your instance's functionality, but they aren't automatically removed. After deactivating, review your instance for any artifacts that require manual cleanup. ## Procedure 1. Navigate to **All** > **Feature Preview Program**. 2. Locate the active feature you want to deactivate. 3. Select **Deactivate**. ## Result The pre-release feature is deactivated and removed from your instance. ## What to do next After deactivating a feature, review your instance for any residual artifacts that the feature installed. If you have questions or need assistance after deactivating a feature, contact the product team. **Parent Topic:**[Feature Preview Program](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/platform-administration/feature-preview-program.md)