--- title: Configure cascade delete rules description: When a record is deleted, there are different options for how the deletion will affect records that reference the deleted record. You can configure what happens to records that reference a record when that record is deleted. locale: en-US canonical_url: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/australia/platform-administration/t\_CascadeDeleteRules.html release: australia topic_type: task last_updated: "2026-03-12" reading_time_minutes: 1 breadcrumb: [Add a reference field, Reference field type, Reference, Field administration, Forms, fields, and lists, Configure core features, Administer the ServiceNow AI Platform] --- # Configure cascade delete rules When a record is deleted, there are different options for how the deletion will affect records that reference the deleted record. You can configure what happens to records that reference a record when that record is deleted. ## Before you begin Role required: personalize\_dictionary ## About this task For example, if you delete a user record that is referenced in the **Caller ID** field on several incident records, you can configure what happens to those incident records. By default, the references are cleared, so the incident records are maintained with an empty **Caller ID** field. ## Procedure 1. Navigate to a reference field on a form. 2. Right-click the field label and select **Configure Dictionary**. 3. Under **Related Links**, click **Advanced view**. 4. Locate the Reference Specification section. 5. In the **Reference cascade rule** field, select one of the following options. **Note:** The option for this field have no effect for tables with m2m relationships, meaning that in this example, if the tables have an m2m relationship, the user record is deleted.
Option Description
**__Clear__ or __-- None --__** Deleting a record clears references \(default option\).
**__Delete__ or __Cascade__** Deleting a record also deletes all referencing records. For example, when a user record is deleted, any incidents assigned to the user are also deleted. **Caution:** Use this method with caution.
**__Restrict__** Deleting a record is restricted unless there are no references to the record. For example, prevent the user record from being deleted if any incident includes a reference to the user.
**__None__** Deleting a record does not change records that reference the record.
6. Click **Update**. **Related topics** [Modify dictionary entries](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/platform-administration/table-administration-and-data-management/t_ModifyADictionaryEntryFromAForm.md)