--- title: Roll back patch upgrades or plugin activations description: Use the Rollback Contexts module to roll back patch upgrades and plugin activations. locale: en-US canonical_url: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/australia/platform-administration/table-administration-and-data-management/roll-back-rollback-context.html release: australia product: Table Administration and Data Management classification: table-administration-and-data-management topic_type: task last_updated: "2026-03-12" reading_time_minutes: 1 breadcrumb: [Roll back and delete recovery, Tables and data, Configure core features, Administer the ServiceNow AI Platform] --- # Roll back patch upgrades or plugin activations Use the **Rollback Contexts** module to roll back patch upgrades and plugin activations. ## Before you begin Role required: admin Review this information and requirements before performing rollback: - Rolling back is possible only between patches in the same software release. For example, Rolling back is possible from Orlando patch 2 to patch 1, but not from Orlando to New York. - The rollback must be done within 10 days of the most recent upgrade or plugin activation. If you need to retain a rollback context for more than 10 days, you can do so by adding a system property. See [Rollback context properties](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/platform-administration/table-administration-and-data-management/rollback-context-properties.md). - You can only roll back to the previous version. For example, rolling back from patch 3 to patch 1 requires two rollbacks. - You must have the Restore Deleted Records \(com.snc.undelete\) and Delete Recovery \(com.glide.delete\_recovery\) plugins activated. - You can only roll back one active instance at a time. Rolling back contexts on multiple nodes is not supported. - A rollback deletes data and may remove evidence of an upgrade or activation record, which makes it difficult to debug the problem that made the rollback necessary. - To roll back to a patch version before the Assigned WAR, submit a request for Customer Service and Support to do the rollback. ## Procedure 1. Navigate to **All** > **Rollback & Recovery** > **Rollback Contexts**. 2. Select the context that you want to rollback. 3. Roll back by selecting the **Rollback** related link. 4. Confirm the rollback. An indicator appears showing the progress of the rollback. **glide.war** updates to the rolled-back version. The log shows the stages of the rollback process. 5. After the rollback is complete, log out of your instance and log back in again. 6. Open a new tab and see if the context state changed to **Rolled back**. If not, contact Customer Service and Support. **Parent Topic:**[Roll back and delete recovery](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/platform-administration/table-administration-and-data-management/rollback-delete-recovery.md)