--- title: Revert a customization description: To prevent customizations from being overwritten by system upgrades, the upgrade process automatically skips changes to objects that have been customized. You may want to overwrite your customizations when a software upgrade contains a feature that you would like to implement. locale: en-US canonical_url: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/australia/platform-administration/upgrade-center/uc-revert-customization.html release: australia product: Upgrade Center classification: upgrade-center topic_type: task last_updated: "2026-03-12" reading_time_minutes: 1 breadcrumb: [Reviewing upgrade history, Using Upgrade Center, Upgrade Center, Upgrade, Administer the ServiceNow AI Platform] --- # Revert a customization To prevent customizations from being overwritten by system upgrades, the upgrade process automatically skips changes to objects that have been customized. You may want to overwrite your customizations when a software upgrade contains a feature that you would like to implement. ## Before you begin Role required: admin ## About this task To identify customized objects, the system adds a corresponding record in the Customer Updates \[sys\_update\_xml\] table. The table maintains the current version information for all objects that have been customized. The upgrade process skips changes to objects that have entries in the table. The upgrade process does not skip objects if only excluded fields have changed. ## Procedure 1. Navigate to **All** > **Upgrade Center** > **Upgrade History**. 2. Select the desired software version. 3. Filter the Upgrade Details related list by **Disposition is Skipped**. 4. Add another filter condition for **Changed is True** to return only the objects that have changed since the last upgrade. 5. Select the update record to implement. The **File differences** field displays a side-by-side comparison of the customization and the default version. Deletions are highlighted in red, additions in green, and modifications in yellow. 6. Click **Revert to base system** to overwrite your customized object with the system default version. - The **Disposition** changes from **Skipped** to **Reverted**. - After you revert a customization, you have the option to click **Reapply Changes** to reapply your customizations \(undo the revert\).