--- title: Roll back a data privacy job description: Roll back a data privacy job on your non-production instance that uses anonymized data from your production instance to a state prior to de-identification of a data class or user job. locale: en-US canonical_url: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/australia/platform-security/data-privacy-classic/rollback-data-privacy-job.html release: australia product: Data Privacy \(Classic\) classification: data-privacy-classic topic_type: task last_updated: "2026-03-12" reading_time_minutes: 1 breadcrumb: [Data privacy job rollback, Data privacy \(Classic\) configuration, Data privacy \(Classic\), Data Privacy, Platform Privacy] --- # Roll back a data privacy job Roll back a data privacy job on your non-production instance that uses anonymized data from your production instance to a state prior to de-identification of a data class or user job. ## Before you begin Role required: data\_privacy\_admin or data\_privacy\_processor, and admin ## Procedure 1. Elevate to the **data\_privacy\_processor** or **data\_privacy\_admin** role. For details on role elevation, see [Elevate to a privileged role](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/platform-security/t_ElevateToAPrivilegedRole.md). 2. Navigate to **All** > **System Security** > **Data Privacy** > **Data Privacy Job**. **Note:** In advance, a data privacy policy configuration that supports rollback must be created. [Create a data privacy policy](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/platform-security/data-privacy-classic/config-dp-policy.md). 3. Create a data privacy job and select a Privacy Configuration that supports Rollback. See [Configure a data privacy job](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/platform-security/data-privacy-classic/config-data-privacy-job.md). 4. Schedule the job for data anonymization. - After the job has run, the data will be anonymized for the selected configuration. - A message displays in the job informing of the expiration time. Within the expiry period you have the ability to roll back the job.\[Omitted image "dp-rollback-expiry-message.png"\] Alt text: Data privacy job rollback expiration time message. 5. Elevate to the **data\_privacy\_processor** role. 6. Open the data privacy job to be rolled back. 7. Select **Rollback** to de-anonymize the data.