--- title: Roll back an Edge Encryption proxy server upgrade description: If a proxy upgrade is unsuccessful, you can go back to the earlier version. locale: en-US canonical_url: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/australia/platform-security/edge-encryption/t\_RollBackAProxyUpdate.html release: australia product: Edge Encryption classification: edge-encryption topic_type: task last_updated: "2026-03-12" reading_time_minutes: 1 breadcrumb: [Upgrading Edge Encryption, Edge Encryption, Encryption] --- # Roll back an Edge Encryption proxy server upgrade If a proxy upgrade is unsuccessful, you can go back to the earlier version. ## Before you begin Role required: admin ## About this task If an upgrade fails when using the scheduled upgrade feature in the Australia release, the proxy server will automatically roll back to the old version. The old proxy server is stored unmodified in a backup directory. If you would like to roll back a manual upgrade, you can follow these steps. ## Procedure 1. Shut down the proxy. 2. Delete the new proxy directory. 3. Rename the backup directory to the proxy name. The backup directory is in the proxy installation directory with the name `_backup` 4. Start the proxy. 5. Check the proxy log and the instance to verify that the proxy is online. **Parent Topic:**[Upgrading Edge Encryption](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/platform-security/edge-encryption/c_UpdateEdgeEncryptionProxy.md)