--- title: Modify the severity for a CVE or TPE description: As a vulnerability manager or analyst, you can modify the severity level of Common Vulnerability Entry \(CVE\) or Third-party Entry \(TPE\) in the Security Exposure Management Workspace. locale: en-US canonical_url: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/australia/security-management/sem-modify-reset-severity.html release: australia topic_type: task last_updated: "2026-03-12" reading_time_minutes: 1 breadcrumb: [Use, Unified Security Exposure Management, Security Operations] --- # Modify the severity for a CVE or TPE As a vulnerability manager or analyst, you can modify the severity level of Common Vulnerability Entry \(CVE\) or Third-party Entry \(TPE\) in the Security Exposure Management Workspace. ## Before you begin Role required: - sn\_vul.vulnerability\_analyst, sn\_vul.vulnerability\_admin, or sn\_vul.remediation\_owner for host vulnerable items \(VITs\) - sn\_vul.app\_sec\_manager, sn\_vul.app\_security\_champion for application vulnerable items \(AVITs\) - sn\_vul\_container.vulnerability\_analyst, sn\_vul\_container.vulnerability\_admin, or sn\_vul\_container.remediation\_owner for container vulnerable items \(CVITs\) - sn\_vulc.admin, sn\_vulc.remediation\_owner for configuration test results \(CTRs\) ## Procedure 1. Navigate to **Workspaces** > **Security Exposure Management** > **Lists** > **Libraries**. 2. Open the appropriate entry: - **CVEs \(NVD\)**: To modify the severity of a CVE. - **TPEs**: To modify the severity of a TPE. 3. Select **Modify severity** from the **More Actions** icon \[Omitted image "ellipsis-icon-workspace.png"\] Alt text: ellipsis\_icon 4. Select the new severity level from the drop-down. 5. Provide a justification for your update. 6. Select **Submit**. **Note:** - You can revert to the original source severity using the **Reset Severity** option from the **More Actions** menu. This option appears only after you modify the severity. - The **Modified severity** field appears only when you change the source severity. If you reset it to the original value, the field is removed. - The system will use the **Modified severity** for risk calculations starting from the next scheduled job onwards. If the severity is reset, the original source severity will be applied instead. **Parent Topic:**[Using Unified Security Exposure Management](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/security-management/using-unified-security-exposure-management.md)