--- title: Modify the severity for a CVE or TPE description: As a vulnerability manager or analyst, you can modify the severity level of Common Vulnerability Entry \(CVE\) or Third-party Entry \(TPE\) in the Vulnerability Manager Workspace. locale: en-US canonical_url: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/australia/security-management/vulnerability-manager-workspace/vmws-modify-reset-severity.html release: australia product: Vulnerability Manager Workspace classification: vulnerability-manager-workspace topic_type: task last_updated: "2026-03-12" reading_time_minutes: 1 breadcrumb: [Use the List view in the Vulnerability Manager Workspace, Monitoring and managing vulnerable items and test results in the Vulnerability Manager Workspace, Vulnerability Manager Workspace, Vulnerability Response Workspaces, Unified Security Exposure Management, Security Operations] --- # Modify the severity for a CVE or TPE As a vulnerability manager or analyst, you can modify the severity level of Common Vulnerability Entry \(CVE\) or Third-party Entry \(TPE\) in the Vulnerability Manager Workspace. ## Before you begin Role required: - sn\_vul.vulnerability\_analyst, or sn\_vul.vulnerability\_admin for host vulnerable items \(VITs\) - sn\_vul.app\_sec\_manager, sn\_vul.app\_developer for application vulnerable items \(AVITs\) - sn\_vul\_container.vulnerability\_analyst or sn\_vul\_container.vulnerability\_admin for container vulnerable items \(CVITs\) ## Procedure 1. Navigate to **Workspaces** > **Vulnerability Manager Workspace** > **Lists** > **Libraries**. 2. Open the appropriate entry: - **CVEs \(NVD\)**: To modify the severity of a CVE. - **TPEs**: To modify the severity of a TPE. 3. Select **Modify severity** from the **More Actions** icon \[Omitted image "ellipsis-icon-workspace.png"\] Alt text: ellipsis\_icon 4. Select the new severity level from the drop-down. 5. Provide a justification for your update. 6. Select **Submit**. **Note:** - You can revert to the original source severity using the **Reset Severity** option from the **More Actions** menu. This option appears only after you modify the severity. - The **Modified severity** field appears only when you change the source severity. If you reset it to the original value, the field is removed. - The system will use the **Modified severity** for risk calculations starting from the next scheduled job onwards. If the severity is reset, the original source severity will be applied instead. **Parent Topic:**[Use the List view in the Vulnerability Manager Workspace](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/security-management/vulnerability-manager-workspace/vr-ws-vmws-list-view-duplicate.md)