--- title: Deactivate or delete a classification rule description: Deactivate or delete a classification rule if it is no longer needed or relevant. locale: en-US canonical_url: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/australia/security-management/vulnerability-response/delete-vulnerability-classification-rule.html release: australia product: Vulnerability Response classification: vulnerability-response topic_type: task last_updated: "2026-03-12" reading_time_minutes: 1 breadcrumb: [Create and edit a classification group, Vulnerability Response remediation overview, Vulnerability Response, Unified Security Exposure Management, Security Operations] --- # Deactivate or delete a classification rule Deactivate or delete a classification rule if it is no longer needed or relevant. ## Before you begin Role required: sn\_vul.manage\_classification\_rule ## About this task When a classification rule is deactivated or deleted, the data that was populated in the **Classification** and **Classification\_type** fields by that deleted rule remains in their respective tables. If you want to clear this data, create a rule with empty values in the **Classification** and **Classification\_type** fields and reapply the group. Once this new rule is reapplied, the changes are reflected on all the records that this rule is applicable for, based on the conditions of the rule. Starting with v24.0.6 of Vulnerability Response, if a classification rule is deleted or deactivated, it’s no longer applied to the discovered item or vulnerability entry and the data in the **Classification** and **Classification\_type** fields get cleared. ## Procedure 1. Navigate to **All** > **Vulnerability** > **Administration** > **Vulnerability Classification Rules**. 2. To select the rule that you want to delete, click the check box that is next to the rule. 3. To delete the rule, do one of the following: - From the Action on selected rows list, click **Delete**. - Select the rule and click the **Delete** button. 4. Click **Apply Changes**. **Note:** If you don't click this button, the rule continues to reside in the system. Vulnerabilities referenced by the rule continue to reference them.