--- title: Roll back a document description: A document can be rolled back to an earlier revision at any time. Before rolling back to an earlier revision, ensure that the document is not checked out and that you have Editor or Owner permissions for the document. locale: en-US canonical_url: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/australia/servicenow-platform/document-management-services/t\_RollBackADocument.html release: australia product: Document Management Services classification: document-management-services topic_type: task last_updated: "2026-03-12" reading_time_minutes: 1 breadcrumb: [Create a document, Managed Documents, Document Services, Manage content capabilities, Extend ServiceNow AI Platform capabilities] --- # Roll back a document A document can be rolled back to an earlier revision at any time. Before rolling back to an earlier revision, ensure that the document is not checked out and that you have Editor or Owner permissions for the document. ## Before you begin Role required: document\_management\_admin or Role required: document\_management\_user ## Procedure 1. Navigate to the document record. 2. In the Document Revisions list, click the revision that you want to roll back to. 3. Right-click the header bar and select **Rollback**. The Rollback to Revision dialog box displays. The name and revision number are new. The note specifies the revision to which you are rolling back. 4. Change any information on the Rollback to Revision dialog box as necessary. 5. Click **OK**. The latest revision is now the revision that you selected for rollback. **Parent Topic:**[Create a document](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/servicenow-platform/document-management-services/c_CreateADocument.md)