--- title: Retire a knowledge block in Agent Workspace description: Retire a published knowledge block if you no longer want it to be available for users to view or search. locale: en-US canonical_url: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/australia/servicenow-platform/knowledge-management/retire-block-agent.html release: australia product: Knowledge Management classification: knowledge-management topic_type: task last_updated: "2026-03-12" reading_time_minutes: 1 breadcrumb: [Knowledge blocks authoring in Agent Workspace, Using knowledge blocks, Using Knowledge Management, Knowledge Management, Manage content capabilities, Extend ServiceNow AI Platform capabilities] --- # Retire a knowledge block in Agent Workspace Retire a published knowledge block if you no longer want it to be available for users to view or search. ## Before you begin You must have contribute access to the knowledge base that stores the knowledge block you want to retire. Role required: agent\_workspace\_user and knowledge ## About this task You can retire knowledge blocks only if they are not used in any knowledge articles. ## Procedure 1. Navigate to **All** > **Agent Workspace** > **Agent Workspace Home**. 2. Go to **Lists** > **Knowledge Articles** > **Published**. 3. Select the knowledge block you want to retire. 4. Click **Edit**. 5. Click **Retire**. ## Result The knowledge block is retired depending on the workflow setting of its knowledge base. - **Knowledge - Instant Retire**: The knowledge block is immediately retired. - **Knowledge - Approval Retire**: The knowledge block is retired on approval completion. When retired, your knowledge block no longer appears in the Published list under Knowledge Blocks in Agent Workspace.