--- title: Retire a knowledge block description: You can retire a published knowledge block so that it's no longer available for users to view or search. locale: en-US canonical_url: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/australia/servicenow-platform/knowledge-management/retire-knowledge-block.html release: australia product: Knowledge Management classification: knowledge-management topic_type: task last_updated: "2026-03-12" reading_time_minutes: 1 breadcrumb: [Create a knowledge block, Using knowledge blocks, Using Knowledge Management, Knowledge Management, Manage content capabilities, Extend ServiceNow AI Platform capabilities] --- # Retire a knowledge block You can retire a published knowledge block so that it's no longer available for users to view or search. ## Before you begin Role required: user must have contributor access to the knowledge base. ## Procedure 1. Navigate to **All** > **Knowledge** > **Knowledge Blocks** > **Published**. 2. Open the applicable record. 3. Select **Retire** to retire the knowledge block. **Note:** - Starting from the Australia release, you can retire the knowledge block attached to an article by setting the \(**glide.knowman.allow\_retire\_block**\) system property to true. - Any additional steps required to retire the knowledge block, such as approvals, depend on the workflow for the knowledge base. See [Knowledge workflows](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/servicenow-platform/knowledge-management/r_KnowledgeWorkflows.md) for more information. - A knowledge block can only be deleted if it's not being used in any knowledge article, including any retired article or previous version of an article. ## Result The retired knowledge block is no longer visible in the article. **Parent Topic:**[Create a knowledge block](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/servicenow-platform/knowledge-management/create-modify-knowledge-block.md)