This API permanently deletes people
Suppressing a person way deletes their profile and suppresses the identifier you reference in the path of this call, preventing you from re-adding a person using the same identifier (until you unsuppress the identifier). You cannot recover a profile after you suppress it. In general, should use this API sparingly—for GDPR/CCPA requests, etc.
If you want to keep a record of a person but prevent them from receiving messages, you should set the person''s unsubscribed attribute (or use other attributes to represent complex subscription preferences) instead.