name: Hint Health FinOps description: Financial operations guidance for teams integrating with or subscribing to Hint Health's direct primary care platform, covering API access costs, transaction fees, add-on pricing, and cost optimization strategies. url: https://www.hint.com/core/pricing created: 2026-06-13 modified: 2026-06-13 overview: description: Hint Health's pricing model combines monthly subscription fees (per plan tier) with per-transaction payment processing fees and optional add-on charges. API access is an add-on fee on Core Growth and Core Scale plans ($100/month) but is included without limit in Core Enterprise. apiAccessCosts: - tier: Core Growth apiAccess: Add-on at $100/month note: Basic API access; specific rate limits not publicly disclosed - tier: Core Scale apiAccess: Add-on at $100/month note: API access; specific rate limits not publicly disclosed - tier: Core Enterprise apiAccess: Included (Unlimited) note: Best choice for high-volume integrations; custom pricing costDrivers: - name: Monthly Platform Subscription description: Base monthly fee varies by plan tier (Core Growth $110/mo → Core Enterprise custom). Scales with member count. type: fixed - name: API Access Add-On description: $100/month surcharge on Core Growth and Core Scale for programmatic access. Included in Core Enterprise. type: fixed - name: Payment Processing Fees description: Per-transaction fees apply to all membership billing processed through Hint Payments (Rainforest) or Stripe. Debit/credit at 2.50%–2.75% + $0.30; ACH at 0.50%–0.75% + $0.25 (capped at $5). type: variable - name: Member Overage description: Additional members beyond the base plan allowance are billed in increments (e.g., $45/mo per 50 additional members on Core Growth). type: variable - name: Eligibility Autosync Feeds description: $75/month per feed for automated insurance eligibility verification. Core Scale includes 3 feeds; Core Enterprise includes 10. type: fixed - name: Data Exporter description: $500/month add-on for bulk data export, relevant for BI/analytics pipelines and data warehouse integrations. type: fixed - name: Additional Clinicians (Clinical plans) description: Full-time clinicians billed at $232–$290/month each; part-time at $112–$140/month each. type: fixed costOptimization: - recommendation: Upgrade to Core Enterprise for high-volume API usage rationale: The $100/month API add-on on Growth/Scale plans pairs with undisclosed rate limits. Core Enterprise includes unlimited API access and may be more cost-effective for integrations touching many practices. - recommendation: Use ACH over card payments where possible rationale: ACH processing fees (0.50%–0.75% + $0.25, $5 cap) are significantly lower than debit/credit card rates (2.50%–2.75% + $0.30), especially for larger monthly membership payments. - recommendation: Batch API calls and use webhooks for event-driven workflows rationale: Webhook-based event delivery reduces polling overhead and potential rate limit exposure. Hint's API uses webhooks as the "primary push channel" for lifecycle events. - recommendation: Leverage the Sandbox environment for development rationale: Separate sandbox credentials allow full integration testing without consuming production API quota or incurring transaction fees. - recommendation: Negotiate member increment pricing at scale rationale: Core Enterprise pricing is custom. Organizations managing large member populations should negotiate member increment fees during contract discussions. - recommendation: Evaluate startup promotion rationale: New practices receive 1 free month post-launch with no upfront costs before practice launch — useful for estimating real-world API and transaction costs before full commitment. budgetingGuidelines: - For a mid-sized DPC practice integrating via API on Core Scale + API add-on: budget approximately $775/month in platform fees ($675 + $100) plus variable transaction fees. - For enterprise networks building multi-practice integrations: negotiate Core Enterprise pricing inclusive of unlimited API access and custom BAA/MSA terms. - Transaction fee budgeting: estimate based on average membership fee × member count × applicable card/ACH split to project monthly processing costs. references: - name: Hint Core Pricing url: https://www.hint.com/core/pricing - name: Hint Clinical Pricing url: https://www.hint.com/clinical/pricing - name: Hint Developer Portal url: https://developers.hint.com/